HomeNewsNkumba University Former Guild President, Julius Bukyana nominated for EALA MP seat

Nkumba University Former Guild President, Julius Bukyana nominated for EALA MP seat

- Advertisment -

Former Nkumba University guild president, Julius Bukyana has been successfully nominated as an independent candidate for the forth coming East African Legislative Assembly polls.

Julius Bukyana who resigned last month from the Naguru based NBS-TV to rekindle his political career was on Monday afternoon given a green light to vie for 1 out of the 9 EALA MP slots meant for Ugandans in the Arusha based East Africa’s legislative arm.

Julius Bukyana at Parliament today

Former NBS journalist took to his Twitter handle to announce the developments. “I have been duly nominated for the independent slot East African Legislative Assembly 2022-2027, EBENEZER thus far has the Lord brought me 1 Samuel 7:12 Now all eyes on the prize”

The flamboyantly well accomplished Public Relations guru has a niche into International relations the reason many have singled him out as a competently assertive and Intellectually prepared Ugandan with a political acumen sufficient enough to deliver expectations at the Arusha based legislative assembly.

Uganda is entitled to 9 slots which must be filled by 17th December 2022.

The National Resistance Movement takes a lion’s share, a whole 6 slots out of the 9. 2 slots are ring fenced for opposition parties and only 1 slot reserved for an independent candidate.

Other independent candidates nominated today include; Veronica Kadogo, Jacquiline Amongin, Dr. Dennis Kapyata, Daniel Muwonge, Stella Kiryowa, Phiona Rwanda, and Patience Naamara.

The Clerk to Parliament, Adolf Mwesige informed nominees that a verification committee will be constituted to verify and scrutinize all candidates who would have been nominated by the end of the two day exercise.

The East African Legislative Assembly is an organ of the East African Community, established under Article 9 of the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community.

The Treaty establishing the East African Community was signed on 30th November 1999 and entered into force on 7th July 2000 by the Partner States.

Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, Democratic Republic of Congo and South Sudan are the the 7 member states of the East African Community.

The election exercise of the 5th Assembly of EALA commenced today as the tenure for 4th Assembly diminishes.

- Advertisment -
Simon Peter Nashonji
Nashonji Simon Peter is a passionate communicator, armed with a Diploma in Journalism and Mass Communication and currently moving closer to obtaining his Bachelor of Science in Journalism and Public Relations at Nkumba University. Alongside his academic pursuits, Nashonji assumes the vital position of chief Editor for Nkumba University's News Website, news.nkumbauniversity.ac.ug, where he plays an instrumental role in shaping and delivering well grounded content to the university community and beyond. Driven by an unwavering commitment to his craft, Nashonji possesses a diverse range of knowledge and skills sets that render him an invaluable asset to any media-related venture. His passion for excellence and keen eye for detail set him apart, making him a true asset in the world of communication.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular



- Advertisment -
Exit mobile version